Canadian Packaging

BOSTON—The 9th annual Dieline Awards were recently held in Boston at the Hynes Convention Center, with over 1,400 global entries—winners across a wide spectrum of categories were recognized.

Sponsored by Adobe, HP, Neenah, Packlane, and Nielsen, The Dieline Awards recognizes the absolute best in consumer product packaging design around the globe and brings awareness to the immense values in well-designed brand packaging.

This year’s overall Best in Show winner went to Auge Design for Mutti’s special-edition Eataly World packaging. The Best of Show prize is awarded to the highest rated project among all 1400 entries in the competition, and Mutti’s vintage and elegant design for their line of canned tomato products boldly stood out amongst all the other entries.

The awards were hosted by global executive creative director Tosh Hall and director of brand Grace Dawson of the creative agency jones knowles ritchie (JKR), the previous year’s winner for Best Studio and the Editor’s Choice Award.

“The Dieline Awards exist as a way to celebrate innovation and honor excellence in packaging design around the globe,” says Dieline founder Andrew Gibbs. “Not only has it become the largest worldwide package design competition, but it’s one of the most prestigious and competitive in the design industry.

“Our mission through everything we do has been to recognize and bring awareness to the absolute best in packaging design,” adds Gibbs.

The Awards Jury was comprised of 20 members from all over the world in the design and packaging industry like Natasha Jen from Pentagram, Debbie Millman of the Design Matters Podcast, and Paul Foulkes-Arellano from A Plastic Planet.

With two rounds of careful judging, each of the 68 winners was assessed for creativity, marketability, innovation, execution, and on-pack branding.

Other notable award winners from the evening’s ceremony included Chobani, winner of the Editor’s Choice Award, a design that is handpicked by the Dieline’s founder. Chobani’s in-house design team led by Leland Maschmeyer, won the award based on the packaging redesign for the country’s leading yogurt.

Integrated marketing and communications agency Cramer-Krasselt won the HP Award for best use of digital printing with their design of Naughty Bags, while Shung Shung won the Neenah Award for their show-stopping use of paper for their 2017 National Playing Card Collection by Day Deck.

The Nielsen Design Impact Awards were given to the Coca-Cola Design team and Turner Duckworth for their work on Fairlife, LPK for Ice Breakers’ new visual identity, and Affinity Creative Group’s design for Robert Mondavi Private Selection.

About The Dieline Awards
The Dieline Awards formally recognizes the absolute best in consumer product packaging design worldwide, bringing awareness to the immense value that lies in well-designed brand packaging.
Now in its ninth year, The Dieline Awards exists as a way to celebrate innovation and honor excellence in packaging design around the globe. It is one of the most prestigious and competitive competitions in the design industry, and the largest worldwide package design competition.
Brand owners, consumers, marketers, agencies, in-house creatives, students, and enthusiasts around the world turn to The Dieline Awards as the benchmark for impeccably-designed packaging of consumer products. More information available at


Stories continue below

Category Captains 2024