Canadian Packaging

MonoSol Wins Indiana Innovation Award for Food Grade Film

Canadian Packaging   

Design & Innovation Food Safety Design Film 2018 Indiana Innovation Award Butler University design Film Innovation MonoSol

The Indiana Innovation Awards seek to recognize individuals and organizations leading the charge within the state.

MonoSol joined nine other organizations winning a 2018 Indiana Innovation Award at a ceremony held on Oct. 11 at Butler University in Indianapolis. The annual Day of Innovation celebration is designed to increase the recognition of Indiana as a growing global center for innovation.

MonoSol, a Kuraray Company, won the award for its new food grade water-soluble film which is used to create grab-and-go, pre-measured servings of powdered protein supplements that dissolve and release their contents when added to an athlete’s shaker bottle.

“If you know anyone who likes to lift weights, you know how much they love post-workout nutrition,” said Nate Miranda, New Ventures Director for MonoSol. “With this we provide a simple solution where all you do is take out a single pouch, drop it in a shaker bottle and you get a perfectly pre-measured dose of protein every time. No scooping, no dust, no bulky containers to mess with.”

Established in 2011, the Indiana Innovation Awards are the only broad-based innovation awards focused exclusively on Indiana and seek to recognize individuals and organizations leading the charge within the state. An executive panel of judges selected this year’s winners from a record 56 finalists. Winners represented a cross-section of Indiana industries including manufacturing, retail, agriculture and technology.

“Winning an Indiana Innovation Award validates what we’re doing as a New Venture’s team at MonoSol,” said Miranda. “We enjoy looking at the world and finding new ways to add value to people’s lives by solving interesting new challenges. At its core, that’s what successful innovation is really all about.”


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories

Category Captains 2024